About Me

I am married to a man from Tunisia, and we have two children and two cats.  My children will soon both be taller than me - my daughter is 5'9" to my 5'4".  Right now they are eating me out of house and home.

Teaching
I am a 20 year teacher. ( I really cannot believe it has been that long!)  I have taught overseas and in Virginia, but for the last 15+ years I have been in Florida.  I have taught everything from 2nd grade to high school economics.  (In secondary I am certified to teach social sciences and middle school math.)  I enjoy the challenge of moving around to different grade levels, although the thought of going back down to 3rd grade makes me weak in the knees and 2nd grade would probably turn the rest of my hair white.  I am definitely an "older kid" teacher.  I enjoy helping my third grade buddies out, but I don't want to teach third grade for 6 hours a day any more!  (In college I even spent a semester assisting  preschool, and I cannot say in print what goes through my mind when I think about doing that now.....those preschoolers are LOUD.)

I come from a family of teachers.  My grandma taught music, and her sister was a substitute teacher.  My sister is a music teacher, and my brother is like me - has taught a little bit of everything from 3rd grade through high school.  (He is in high school now and claims he is never going back down.)  We do have another sister that just laughs when people ask her why she didn't go into teaching, too - she works in the fashion industry!

No comments

Back to Top